Jallianwala ======================================

Standard

centenary

sensitive issue. what happened. unrest. first world war. security legislation. congress

riots. 5 people killed. arson. meetings banned

dyer opened fire.  60 men. 10 000s young men. no machinegun.

475 + killed.

rebuked. resigned. churchull saying it was monstrous. mealy mouthed. fulsome denunciation required. equivocating .

retirement fund. hero of the hour. savior of the pubjab

invested as a sikh at the hari mandir

Nehru on a train with dyer. dyer said e took pity on the town.

accident. died 8 years later

sir Michael o dwyer. udham singh

issue suppurates 100 years later. commemorations. british dignatry

cmaeron signed book of condolence.

apology? would ot bring closure and improve relations?

========================================================

About Calers

Born Belfast 1971. I read history at Edinburgh. I did a Master's at UCL. I have semi-libertarian right wing opinions. I am married with a daughter and a son. I am allergic to cats. I am the falling hope of the not so stern and somewhat bending Tories. I am a legal beagle rather than and eagle. Big up the Commonwealth of Nations.

Leave a comment