example of a UCAS statement

Standard

 

 

I wish to attend university in the United Kingdom because this country provides outstanding higher education. I am have been fortunate enough to have been educated in the UK for the past few years. This has enabled me to perfect my English.
I would like to study Economics and International Relations because I find these subjects scintillating. As I have spent time in two countries I have developed a profound understanding of the similarities and the differences between ===== and the UK. These subjects address the interconnectivity between countries, cultures and economies. My fascination for cosmopolitanism has made me look at what brings all countries together: trade. I have seen my country transformed in my relatively short life. This has been due to turbocharged economic growth. This caused me to wonder what caused such rapid development? Is it sound governance, business acumen or luck?
My homeland has been riven my controversy on a number of subjects. This whetted my appetite for further inquiry. There is a constant debate between secularism and theocracy; between secession and unity as well as between EU integration and sovereignty. All these disputes touch upon economic issues.
The subjects I wish to study straddle Sciences and Humanities. Thus I can draw on the best of both magisteria. I am enhancing my ability to amass knowledge but more importantly to apply it to real world problems. What is most alluring about my favourite subjects is that they stretch a student’s ability to analyse.
I am a voracious reader. This has allowed me to acquire more knowledge, to expand my lexis and to hone my cognitive skills. I am always a little sceptical about whatever I read and here. This does not mean I outright disbelieve every word. This is the beginning of critical thinking. I always ask what agenda a writer may be pushing. I am very alert to the possibility of bias and selectivity.
My interests go beyond the scholarly. I am a keen sportsman. I am an equestrian and have showjumped at an international level. I also play rugby and football. I certainly subscribe to the maxim: a healthy body for a healthy mind. My sporting endeavours have also enabled me to develop my sense of teamwork.
As well as my native ========I also speak German.
As an active citizen I am looking forward to doing my national service in the ========= Armed Forces. I have also been a useful member of the community. I volunteered to help Down Syndrome children who attend school near my house in==========

In my homeland I volunteered for a charity called Greenpeace. I found this most stimulating and rewarding. I was profoundly inspired in furthering a cause in which I believe most passionately. I learnt the values of team work and communal responsibility. I honed my interpersonal skills and I developed immensely as a person. This experience helped me in my journey towards maturity and self-realisation. It has rounded me as a person. I believe in holistic education and broadening my horizons. This time with Greenpeace was therefore an eyeopener and of unparalleled value.
After my studies I want to return to Turkey and work in the private sector. My objective is to assist ========== economic development. Thereby I can be of most service to my compatriots.

About Calers

Born Belfast 1971. I read history at Edinburgh. I did a Master's at UCL. I have semi-libertarian right wing opinions. I am married with a daughter and a son. I am allergic to cats. I am the falling hope of the not so stern and somewhat bending Tories. I am a legal beagle rather than and eagle. Big up the Commonwealth of Nations.

Leave a Reply

