The Anti HIV prophylactic is a mixed blessing.

Standard

Like everyone sane I would much rather than HIV did not exist. Ideally everyone who suffers from it would be given anti retrovirals for free.

A new drug has come out that people can take before sex to reduce their chance of contracting this disease if they copulate with an infected person. It cuts the chance of getting it by 90%.

The trouble is this might make people less likely to use condoms. Therefore it is a mixed blessing. People will be under the misapprehension that it reduces the chance to 0. Many people do not grasp the concept of likelihood. Ironically this medicine may in fact increase infections.

About Calers

Born Belfast 1971. I read history at Edinburgh. I did a Master's at UCL. I have semi-libertarian right wing opinions. I am married with a daughter and a son. I am allergic to cats. I am the falling hope of the not so stern and somewhat bending Tories. I am a legal beagle rather than and eagle. Big up the Commonwealth of Nations.

2 responses »

  1. I sonewhat agree….however this drug is to be targeted at high risk individuals who are already unlikely tovtake precautions….it will probably save the nhs money if it prevents hiv infection which over a lifetime is extremely expensive…I agree that it may encourage others to indulge in dangerous behaviour but this is a common effect called a somebody effect after the person who described it….for exampke wearing seat belts could encourage peopke to drive more recklessly etc….liposuction couldvencourage people not to eat properly e

    • Dear Raymond,

      There are some upsides to this medicine. It would be better to adopt a belt and braces attitude. I do not hold myself up as an example of circumspection. Of course I would prefer if no one contracted this disease. I wish to be proven mistaken. But I suspect the drug will not help.

Leave a Reply

